I'm a news.ycombinator bot, get the latest from Hacker News! Built by the lovely @riklomas from @superhi_ – sport shoes welcome.
Why so many Chinese students can’t understand the Hong Kong protests https://www.latimes.com/opinion/story/2019-08-20/hong-kong-chinese-students-propaganda
Splunk acquires cloud monitoring service SignalFx for $1.05B https://techcrunch.com/2019/08/21/splunk-acquires-cloud-monitoring-service-signalfx-for-1-05b/
15 states are trying to make the electoral college obselete https://www.nytimes.com/2019/05/22/us/electoral-college.html
CERN Open Data Portal–Explore more than 2 PB of open data from particle physics http://opendata.cern.ch/
Thoughts on Rust Bloat https://raphlinus.github.io/rust/2019/08/21/rust-bloat.html
GitHub Supports Web Authentication (WebAuthn) for Security Keys https://github.blog/2019-08-21-github-supports-webauthn-for-security-keys/
For manufacturers in China, breaking up is hard to do https://www.wsj.com/articles/for-manufacturers-in-china-breaking-up-is-hard-to-do-11566397989?mod=rsswn
Building a distributed time-series database on PostgreSQL https://blog.timescale.com/blog/building-a-distributed-time-series-database-on-postgresql/
Cloud Run Button: Click-to-deploy your Git repos to GCP https://cloud.google.com/blog/products/serverless/introducing-cloud-run-button-click-to-deploy-your-git-repos-to-google-cloud
Acute Effects of E-Cig on Vascular Function Detected at Quantitative MRI https://pubs.rsna.org/doi/10.1148/radiol.2019190562
Mortgage Market Reopens to Risky Borrowers https://www.wsj.com/articles/mortgage-market-reopens-to-risky-borrowers-11566379802?mod=rsswn
Germany for First Time Sells 30-Year Bonds Offering Negative Yields https://www.wsj.com/articles/germany-for-first-time-sells-30-year-bonds-offering-negative-yields-11566385847?mod=rsswn
WeWork Isn’t a Tech Company https://hbr.org/2019/08/no-wework-isnt-a-tech-company-heres-why-that-matters
16M Americans will vote on hackable paperless machines https://www.technologyreview.com/s/614148/16-million-americans-will-vote-on-hackable-paperless-voting-machines/
WebAssembly Interface Types: Interoperate with All the Things https://hacks.mozilla.org/2019/08/webassembly-interface-types/
New saltwater electrical generation could power submarines or medical devices https://spectrum.ieee.org/energywise/green-tech/geothermal-and-tidal/a-saltwater-river-runs-through-it
Mozilla takes action to protect users in Kazakhstan https://blog.mozilla.org/blog/2019/08/21/mozilla-takes-action-to-protect-users-in-kazakhstan/
CTVT – A contagious cancer that spreads from dog to dog https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2019/08/ctvt-tumor-broke-all-rules/595246/
Which waters are listed as impaired for fish consumption? https://mywaterquality.ca.gov/safe_to_eat/impaired_waters/index.html
A Mathematical Model Unlocks the Secrets of Vision https://www.quantamagazine.org/a-mathematical-model-unlocks-the-secrets-of-vision-20190821/
Trails of Wind: Data Visualization of the Architecture of Airport Runways https://trailsofwind.figures.cc/
Show HN: IAvisa – Explore visa requirements worldwide https://iavisa.com/
The State of Transfer Learning in NLP http://ruder.io/state-of-transfer-learning-in-nlp/
Show HN: IOU – Split shared expenses https://www.iou.ch
Libspng – C library for reading and writing PNG files https://libspng.org/
Show HN: IOU - Track shared expenses much simpler than Splitwise (no login) https://www.iou.ch
libspng v0.5.0 – simple libpng alternative, up to 35% faster https://libspng.org/
Startups from Y Combinator’s S19 Demo Day 2 https://techcrunch.com/2019/08/20/here-are-the-82-startups-that-launched-on-day-2-of-ycs-s19-demo-days/
Hundreds of extreme self-citing scientists revealed in new database https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-02479-7
A new AMP update shows how it can infiltrate every corner of the internet https://onezero.medium.com/google-is-tightening-its-iron-grip-on-your-website-27e06b3150e0
The Amazon is burning at alarming rate, and smoke covered SĂŁo Paulo https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-49415973
Why does all life use the same 20 amino acids? https://www.chemistryworld.com/news/why-does-all-life-use-the-same-20-amino-acids/3010824.article
A dream of an ultimate OS http://okmij.org/ftp/papers/DreamOSPaper.html
Turbo, an Improved Rainbow Colormap for Visualization https://ai.googleblog.com/2019/08/turbo-improved-rainbow-colormap-for.html
Sealab II: Porpoise Post and Life Beneath the Waves https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/04/23/sealab-ii-porpoise-post-and-life-beneath-the-waves
The Art of PostgreSQL Second Edition https://theartofpostgresql.com/
General Electric: A Bigger Fraud Than Enron https://www.gefraud.com/
Walmart sues Tesla over fires at stores fitted with its solar panels https://www.reuters.com/article/us-walmart-tesla-solar-lawsuit/walmart-sues-tesla-over-fires-at-stores-fitted-with-its-solar-panels-idUSKCN1VA26B
Broccoli Is Dying. Corn Is Toxic. Long Live Microbiomes https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/observations/broccoli-is-dying-corn-is-toxic-long-live-microbiomes/
A Beginner’s Introduction to Python Web Frameworks (2018) https://stxnext.com/blog/2018/09/27/beginners-introduction-python-frameworks/
Hundreds of extreme self-citing scientists revealed in new database https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-02479-7
IBM Open-Sources Power Chip Instruction Set https://www.nextplatform.com/2019/08/20/big-blue-open-sources-power-chip-instruction-set/
Where do interrupts happen? https://travisdowns.github.io/blog/2019/08/20/interrupts.html
A Primer on BĂ©zier Curves (2013) https://pomax.github.io/bezierinfo/
Elizabeth Warren Came Up with a Plan to Break Up Big Tech https://www.newyorker.com/business/currency/how-elizabeth-warren-came-up-with-a-plan-to-break-up-big-tech
Most startup theory is ex-post, therefore bs https://shafyy.com/post/startup-theory-ex-post/
Could Removing Social Media Metrics Reduce Polarization? https://onezero.medium.com/could-removing-social-media-metrics-reduce-polarization-4d604352c705
IRS budget cuts cost $34.3B in lost revenue from big business https://www.accountingtoday.com/news/irs-budget-cuts-mean-34-3b-in-lost-revenue-from-big-business
Microsoft Edge Browser Released as Beta for Windows and Mac https://www.microsoftedgeinsider.com/en-us/?form=MO12FY&OCID=MO12FY
RT @newsycombinator: Why everyone loves remote work https://usefyi.com/remote-work-report/
Calculus Is Deeply Irrational https://mathenchant.wordpress.com/2019/08/16/calculus-is-deeply-irrational/
 
 
 
 
 
© 2009 creamsocial