I'm a news.ycombinator bot, get the latest from Hacker News! Built by the lovely @riklomas from @superhi_ – sport shoes welcome.
Alexa and Google Home expose users to vishing and eavesdropping https://srlabs.de/bites/smart-spies/
Show HN: Nginx Image with HTTP/3 (QUIC), TLS1.3 with 0-RTT, Brotli https://github.com/RanadeepPolavarapu/docker-nginx-http3
Disney+ streaming uses draconian DRM https://hansdegoede.livejournal.com/22338.html
From a life prison sentence to a $100k+ engineering job https://thehustle.co/how-one-man-went-from-a-life-prison-sentence-to-a-100k-engineering-job/
Disney+ Doesn't Work on Linux https://hansdegoede.livejournal.com/22338.html
Planetary 'autopsies' indicate worlds like Earth common in the cosmos https://www.reuters.com/article/us-space-planets/planetary-autopsies-indicate-worlds-like-earth-common-in-the-cosmos-idU SKBN1WW2M7
The Grove 8 – Growing Trees in Blender https://www.thegrove3d.com/releases/the-grove-release-8/
F# RISC-V Instruction Set Formal Specification https://github.com/mrLSD/riscv-fs
Where do all the censored developers go? https://danielpocock.com/where-do-censored-developers-go/
Happy 15th Birthday, Ubuntu https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2019/10/happy-birthday-ubuntu-2019
Lesser Known Coding Fonts https://vfoley.xyz/lesser-known-coding-fonts/
Python at Scale: Strict Modules https://instagram-engineering.com/python-at-scale-strict-modules-c0bb9245c834
Facebook isn’t free speech, it’s algorithmic amplification optimized for outrage https://techcrunch.com/2019/10/20/facebook-isnt-free-speech-its-algorithmic-amplification-optimized-for-outrage/
OpenAI's blog post about "solving the Rubik's cube" and what they actually did https://twitter.com/GaryMarcus/status/1185679169360809984
Attempting to Use GNU Guix https://zge.us.to/guix.html
Yes, Estimate Software Projects https://blog.pragmaticengineer.com/yes-you-should-estimate/
Taiwan managed to build high-speed rail. Why can't California? https://www.desertsun.com/story/opinion/columnists/2019/10/17/taiwan-managed-to-build-high-speed-rail-why-cant-we-connecting-california-joe-mathews/4013735002/
When Introverts Act Like Extraverts (and Vice Versa) https://www.learningandthebrain.com/blog/when-introverts-act-like-extraverts-and-vice-versa/
A Forty Year Career https://lethain.com/forty-year-career/
I Just Took the World's First 20-Hour Flight. Here's What It Did to Me https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2019-10-19/i-just-took-the-world-s-first-20-hour-flight-here-s-what-it-did-to-me
The link between middle-wage jobs, wage inequality, and worker welfare https://voxeu.org/article/link-between-declining-middle-wage-jobs-rising-wage-inequality-and-worker-welfare
'Andrew Yang’s dystopian warnings about automation are wrong' https://slate.com/business/2019/10/andrew-yang-automation-unemployment-freedom-dividend.html
Boeing Engineers Lost Control of the Company https://www.perell.com/blog/boeing-737-max
How Coca-Cola Undermines Plastic Recycling Efforts https://theintercept.com/2019/10/18/coca-cola-recycling-plastics-pollution/
Boeing Pilots Detected 737 Max Flight Control Glitch 2 Years Before Deadly Crash https://www.npr.org/2019/10/18/771451904/boeing-pilots-detected-737-max-flight-control-glitch-two-years-before-deadly-cr a
Why Red Means Red in Almost Every Language (2015) http://nautil.us/issue/76/language/why-red-means-red-in-almost-every-language-rp
Citizen Science Effort Seeks to Survey the Entire Great Barrier Reef https://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/massive-citizen-science-effort-seeks-survey-entire-great-barrier-reef-180973367/
Compiling my own SPARC CPU inside a cheap FPGA https://www.thanassis.space/myowncpu.html
Igloo: A simple Windows automation tool https://easyigloo.org
Don't Call Yourself a Programmer, and Other Career Advice (2011) https://www.kalzumeus.com/2011/10/28/dont-call-yourself-a-programmer/
A cartoon intro to DNS over HTTPS (2018) https://hacks.mozilla.org/2018/05/a-cartoon-intro-to-dns-over-https/
Lesser Known Coding Fonts https://vfoley.xyz/lesser-known-coding-fonts/
DNS over HTTPS, Intro by Mozilla https://hacks.mozilla.org/2018/05/a-cartoon-intro-to-dns-over-https/
Igloo: A simple Windows automation tool https://easyigloo.org
Good UX = Boring UI. Don't Be Creative https://uxengineer.com/good-ux-boring-ui/
Igloo: The super-simple Windows automation tool https://easyigloo.org
Soundex – a phonetic algorithm for indexing names by sound https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soundex
Weaponizing and Gamifying AI for WiFi Hacking: Presenting Pwnagotchi 1.0.0 https://www.evilsocket.net/2019/10/19/Weaponizing-and-Gamifying-AI-for-WiFi-Hacking-Presenting-Pwnagotchi-1-0-0/#.Xas1JEBAewV.reddit
Orbis: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World http://orbis.stanford.edu/
Potatos are as effective as carbohydrate gels for prolonged cycling performance https://www.physiology.org/doi/abs/10.1152/japplphysiol.00567.2019
Pop!_OS 19.10 https://system76.com/pop
COMEFROM https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/COMEFROM
Loopless Programming https://code.jsoftware.com/wiki/Vocabulary/Loopless
Working with Errors in Go 1.13 https://blog.golang.org/go1.13-errors
Pascal Compiler for the C64: Introducing Turbo Rascal SE https://lemonspawn.com/turbo-rascal-syntax-error-expected-but-begin/
Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs (1996) [pdf] https://opendocs.github.io/sicp/sicp.pdf
Learn ClojureScript: Discovering Sequence Operations https://www.learn-clojurescript.com/section-3/lesson-17-discovering-sequence-operations/
Clojure(Script)'s Sequence Abstraction https://www.learn-clojurescript.com/section-3/lesson-17-discovering-sequence-operations/
SICP as PDF File https://opendocs.github.io/sicp/sicp.pdf
2020 OS Migration: Project Trident https://project-trident.org/post/os_migration/
 
 
 
 
 
© 2009 creamsocial